The City Arsenal, know as the St.Nicolas Arsenal, is one of the more intersting examples of burgher architecture in Wrocław. It was erected between 1459-1658 in the North-Western corner of the formercity wallas, in the vicinity of St. Nicolas Gate. The inner courtyard – garnished with the silhouettes of two towersand a well with a Mannerist arch, is one of the most picturesque spots in Wrocław that ofen serves for music and theatre performances. In 1742 the Arsenal was nationalizedand turned into military warehouses. The building destroyed during World War II, between 1945 – 1951 was provisionally secured and later rebuilt. Since 1971 it has served as the venuefor the Section of Weapons (section of the Historical Museum). Since 2000 is the home of the sections of the City Museum of Wrocław: the Archaeological Museum and The Military Museum.